About Hubei

Situated north the middle reaches of the Changjiang (Yangtze)? River, Hubei, a province with numerous rivers and lakes, has been called the "land of thousand lakes". The Changjiang (Yangtze) River cuts through the Wushan Mountain as it flow eastwards, forming the famous gorges linking Hubei with the neighboring Sichuan. The Province has an area of 180 thousand square kilometers and a population of 60 million (by 2005) comprising the Han, Tujia, Hui, Manchu, Miao and Mongolian nationalities. The capital city is Wuhan.

Hubei has a sub-tropical, humid and monsoon climate. It has distinctive for seasons with a changeable spring, a humid and hot summer, a clear and peasant autumn and a dry and cold winter. Its annual mean temperature ranges from 13?C to 18?C (55.4 ?F to 64.4 ?F) with lowest monthly mean in January being 1C to 6C and highest monthly in July being 24?C to 30?C


The education system in Hubei, as elsewhere in China, can be simply summarized as "four educations" and "7 levels". The "four educations" refers to pre-school education, primary education, secondary education and higher education. The "7 levels" refers to kindergarten, primary school, junior high school, senior high school, higher college education, undergraduate education and postgraduate education.

Hubei embodies many famous universities, institutes and academies, including Wuhan University��Central China Normal University, Zhongnan University of Economics and Law and so forth.

Wuhan University

Wuhan University (WHU) is a comprehensive and key national university directly under the administration of the Ministry of Education. It is also one of the "211 Project" and "985 Project"universities with full support in the construction and development from the central and local government of China.

The history of Wuhan University can be traced back to Ziqiang Institute, which was founded in 1893 by Zhang Zhidong, the then governor of Hubei Province and Hunan Province in the late Qing Dynasty. In the process of development and evolution, the institute changed its name several times before it was finally named Wuhan National University in 1928. It is one of the earliest comprehensive national universities in modern China. By the end of 1946, the university had established 6 colleges, the colleges of liberal art, law, sciences, engineering, agriculture and medicine. In 2000, an amalgamation of the former Wuhan University, Wuhan University of Hydraulic and Electric Engineering, Wuhan Technical University of Surveying and Mapping, and Hubei Medical University was announced, which ushered in a new era in its 100-odd years of development.

For the past century, Wuhan University has built an elegant palatial architectural complex of primitive simplicity which blends perfectly the eastern architectural style with that of the west. It is honored as the "Most Beautiful University in China." Furthermore, Wuhan University's centennial humanistic accumulation boils down to its succinct motto, that is, "Improve Oneself, Promote Perseverance, Seek Truth and Make Innovations."


In order to adapt the development of study abroad in china and increase the use efficiency of scholarship for international students, Hubei Province have established regulations of Hubei Provincial Scholarships Management for the purpose of talents cultivation, scientific researches, social service and cultural exchanges in universities and colleges.

Scholarship Standard

1.1 Scholarships are provided for supporting tuitions in principle. According to different amounts, scholarships should be divided into five categories: Undergraduate Scholarship is 10,000 per year; Graduate Scholarship is 15,000 RMB per year; Doctorate scholarship is 20,000 RMB per year; General Scholar Scholarship is 5,000 RMB per 6 months or 10,000 per year; Advanced Scholar Scholarship (including visiting scholars, similarly hereinafter) is 10,000 per 6 months or 20,000 per year.
1.2 The standard of scholarship for foreign students enrolled as the requirement of the external agreement that Hubei province signed should be implemented according to the external agreement.


Why study in Wuhan, Capital of Hubei Province ?


Wuhan lies in the intersection of the Yangtze River. It is the capital of Hubei Province,and known as the most significant city in central China.

History and Culture

Wuhan is the starting base of the Revolution of 1911, as well as the cradle of Chu Culture. It is also one of the oldest historical cities in China.

Who can accompany you?

Population and Area

As the fourth largest city in China, Wuhan covers more than 8400 square kilometers in area with the population of more than 9.7 million. Wuhan consists of three districts, namely, Wuchang, Hankou and Hanyang with four distinct seasons.

Scientific & Educational Advantages

As a city with the second largest amount of colleges in China, Wuhan is famous for its abundant higher educational resources.

Main Authorities

Welcome to join us

Offical Wechat
Mobile platform